Mom Life Q&A w/ Jacqui DeFrança

Who: Jacqui DeFrança
Where: Biddeford, Maine
With: Jon Denton (Husband), Isaiah "Zay" (son), and our two cats Margot and Rooney!
What: A dancer, creator, mother, lover, adventurer and co-owner of Sweetcream Dairy!

Tell us a little more about what you do!

I started dancing when I was a little girl and never stopped. I have lived and danced in Los Angeles and New York City, mostly focused in company work but have also dabbled in choreography and commercial dance. When I landed in NYC, I met my husband, best friend, and future business partner, Jon Denton. And it is in this city where the idea for our business together was born. We went on many ice cream dates and decided to make a go in the dairy world. We moved up to Maine to make our dream a reality. Three years into our ice cream business and we decided to expand our family. Isaiah was born, bringing me into my present day passion. Being his Mama!



— On Self




How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

I like a minimal approach to all aspects of my life, fashion and decor. Creating an aesthetic that is unique yet simple.

What's your routine for getting ready in the morning?

These days my morning starts by 5:30 am. I nurse my baby Zay, make coffee, and wash my face. We get dressed, eat breakfast, I brush my teeth and then this is where life happens. Becoming a mother, I realized the room you must make for spontaneity, each day is truly different. Sometimes I go for a stroller walk through town and sometimes I am making ice cream. Other days I head to a local farm to gather ingredients for the shop and then some days I drive around and make deliveries for our wholesale accounts. And then there are those days where I stay put in our home and dance and play with Zay. I kind of laugh now when the word "normal", "sleep", or "routine" are used in a question towards me. I find I don't really have the "same" each day. My routine is not having a routine!

What would you say is your go-to uniform?

I am a T-shirt and high wasted jean or a floral sun dress type of gal.

— On Motherhood




How do you create mom/life balance for yourself?

I am honestly still learning this balance, but asking for help has been my first step towards some "me time". I am so lucky to have a supportive husband, family close by and flexibility within my career. A huge part of creating mom/life balance is allowing yourself to step away and do something for YOU!

What is your biggest accomplishment as a mother?

My biggest accomplishment as a mother has been being a mother! I am still in awe each day that I created, birthed, and now take care of my baby.

What is your most vivid memory from your journey to motherhood?

My most vivid memory from pregnancy was the first time I felt my baby kick. It was such an incredible sensation that immediately made me feel special and connected to my baby.

What does a typical day-in-the-life with your family look like?

A typical day in the life of my family is pretty simple. Our day would be scattered with nap times, nature and homemade meals. It would close with putting our baby to bed and then enjoying some time just my husband and I, unless we were too pooped from our day. In that case, we would all go to bed! (hehe)

How did your upbringing differ from how you raise your own kids?

My upbringing and how I have started to raise my own child are pretty similar so far. The major difference is location. I did not grow up in Maine and I did not grow up close to the ocean. I find this exciting and new to raise my child by the ocean. The variety of nature, especially having the beach, is already such a huge part of how I play and spend time with my little one.

One nugget of wisdom for other mamas?

Never dismiss your intuition.

 

— On the Future




What are your hopes and dreams for your children?

I hope my child/children get to live life to their fullest potential. Finding what it is that makes them happy and doing it! I hope they always feel grateful, appreciated, inspired, curious, loved and worthy.

When your kids are grown and out of the house, what will your Saturday mornings look like?

Sleeping in as late as I like and starting my day slowly and intentionally.

Retirement plans?

To continue to stay curious, creative, happy and healthy. And to become fluent in a foreign language or two!





— Quickfire Round




Loftiest dream:

Live bi-coastal and be debt free!

Can't live without:

Family

Next vacation:

Portugal

Currently reading:

Baby Led Feeding

Alarm clock set to:

My baby is my alarm clock!

Guilty pleasure:

Gummy Bears

Rule you always break:

No sugar

Desired superpower:

To speak any language.

Biggest role-model:

Beyonce

Spirit animal:

Butterfly

Follow Jacqui on Instagram @jacquidefranca.
Read more
Meet the Leaders Mom Life Q&A w/ Anjuli Arora Dow
Meet the Leaders A Postpartum Discussion with Kelly Mitchem
Meet the Leaders Q&A with Andrea Fazzini